Date of Hearing: April 25, 2018

### ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Chair AB 2982 (Gloria) – As Amended March 22, 2018

SUBJECT: North County Transit District: City of San Diego.

**SUMMARY**: Adds a non-voting board member to the North County Transit District (NCTD) Board of Directors. Specifically, **this bill**:

- 1) Requires the non-voting board member from the City of San Diego to be a member of the City Council.
- 2) Provides that if the Commission on State Mandates determines that this measure contains costs mandated by the state, reimbursement to local agencies and school districts for those costs shall be made.

# **EXISTING LAW:**

- 1) Creates the NCTD to acquire, construct, maintain, and operate (or let a contract to operate) public transit systems and related facilities within its jurisdiction.
- 2) Provides for the district to be governed by a board of directors, which consists of the following:
  - a) One member of the San Diego County Board of Supervisors, appointed by the board of supervisors. This member shall represent, on the board of supervisors, the largest portion of the area under the jurisdiction of the district; and,
  - b) One member of each city council of the Cities of Carlsbad, Del Mar, Encinitas, Escondido, Oceanside, San Marcos, Solana Beach, and Vista, and each new city that incorporates within the district's boundaries, appointed by the respective city council.
- 3) Requires each city and the county represented on the board to appoint one alternate member to serve on the board when the regular member is not available.

FISCAL EFFECT: This bill is keyed fiscal and contains a state-mandated local program.

# COMMENTS:

1) **Background.** The Legislature created the North San Diego County Transit Development Board in 1975 to plan, construct, and operate, directly, or through a contractor, public transit systems in its area of jurisdiction. The board was renamed NCTD in 2006.

SB 1703 (Peace), Chapter 743, Statutes of 2002, created a consolidated transportation agency in San Diego from specified existing agencies, including the San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG), the San Diego Metropolitan Transit Development Board (MTDB), and NCDT, and authorized that agency to assume certain responsibilities. SANDAG is responsible for many public transit and long-term transportation planning and programming responsibilities that formerly resided with MTDB and NCTD. SB 1703 established the general authority and powers of the revamped SANDAG in an attempt to create an agency with the power to develop a comprehensive regional public transportation system. In addition to the planning functions, SB 1703 transferred project development and construction activities to SANDAG, except on certain existing projects, and sought to refocus MTDB and NCTD primarily as agencies operating public transit services. In 2005, MTDB changed its name to the Metropolitan Transit System (MTS).

NCTD contracts with private operators for the provision of all modes of public transit service. Through these contracts, NCTD provides the following transit services: commuter rail (COASTER), hybrid rail (SPRINTER), fixed-route bus (BREEZE), demand response fixed route and route deviation (FLEX), and Americans with Disability Act of 1990 complementary paratransit (LIFT).

- 2) **Bill Summary.** AB 2982 adds a non-voting member from the City Council of San Diego to the North County Transit District Board of Directors. This bill is sponsored by the author.
- 3) Author's Statement. According to the author, "As the frequency of trains into San Diego increases, the City needs to be informed of the happenings and impact of the North County Transit District on its jurisdiction. AB 2982 establishes a channel of communication regarding maintenance, expansion, and other actions of the board by creating a seat for a San Diego City representative on the North County Transit District Board of Directors."
- 4) **Related Legislation.** SB 838 (Bergeson), Chapter 983, Statutes of 1990, established the Orange County Transportation Commission (OCTA) through the consolidation of seven separate transportation agencies. This bill expanded the membership of the governing board from 8-12 members, one of which is the Director of Transportation, District 12, a nonvoting member.
- 5) **Arguments in Support.** The Train Coalition at Santa Fe Depot, supporter of this measure, states, "This legislation creates an opportunity for San Diego to engage NCTD regarding station maintenance, expansion plans, budgeting, and operating practices affecting the city of San Diego."
- 6) Arguments in Opposition. None on file.

# **REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:**

### Support

Councilmember Christopher Ward, City of San Diego The Train Coalition, at Santa Fe Depot

# Opposition

None on file

Analysis Prepared by: Puja Navaney / L. GOV. / (916) 319-3958