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Date of Hearing: April 23, 2025

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT
Juan Carrillo, Chair
AB 671 (Wicks) — As Amended March 24, 2025

SUBJECT: Accelerated restaurant building plan approval

SUMMARY:: Requires a local building department or permitting department to allow a qualified
professional certifier to certify compliance with applicable building, health, and safety codes for
a tenant improvement relating to a restaurant. Specifically, this bill:

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

Defines a “qualified professional certifier” as a licensed architect or professional engineer, as
defined in existing law, who meets both of the following conditions:

a) Has at least five years of experience in commercial building design or plan review.

b) Maintains professional liability insurance in an amount not less than $2 million per
occurrence.

Requires a local building department or local permitting department to allow a qualified
professional certifier to certify compliance with applicable building, health, and safety codes
for a tenant improvement relating to a restaurant.

Requires a tenant improvement relating to a restaurant to comply with building standards
approved by the California Building Standards Commission (CBSC) and local building
standards in effect at the time the application for a permit is submitted.

Requires a qualified professional certifier to submit a statement attesting that the tenant
improvement plans and specifications comply with all applicable laws and regulations.

Deems a certified plan approved for permitting purposes upon submission of the
certification, provided that all fees and required documents have been submitted.

Requires each local building department or local permitting department to annually conduct a
random audit of no less than 10% and no more than 20% of all tenant improvements
submitted for certification under this bill, as follows:

a) Requires the audit to be initiated within five business days following permit issuance.

b) Requires the audit to include a review of the submitted plans for compliance with
applicable laws.

c) Requires, if an audit reveals material noncompliance, the local building department or
local permitting department to provide a plan check correction notice within 10 days of
the audit’s initiation.

d) Allows repeated violations by a qualified professional certifier to result in suspension or
revocation of certification privileges.



AB 671
Page 2

7) Provides that certification under this bill does not exempt a tenant improvement from other
mandatory construction inspections, including, but not limited to, fire, health, and structural
inspections conducted during or after construction.

8) Provides that this bill does not limit the authority of the local health department to conduct
food facility inspections as required under the California Retail Food Code.

9) Provides that any false statement in a certification submission made under this bill is grounds
for disciplinary action by the California Architects Board or the Board of Professional
Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists, as applicable.

10) Authorizes local jurisdictions to impose reasonable administrative penalties, including fines,
for willful noncompliance with the requirements of this bill.

11) Provides that this bill does not prohibit a local building department or local permitting
department from charging permit fees for applications utilizing a qualified professional
certifier.

12) Provides that qualified professional certifiers are liable for any damages arising from
negligent plan review.

13) Provides that this bill does not reduce or limit the authority or liability of a local building
department or local permitting department.

14) Finds and declares that this bill address a matter of statewide concern and not a municipal
affair and therefore applies to all cities, including charter cities, as specified.

15) Provides that no reimbursement is required by this bill pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B
of the California Constitution because a local agency or school district has the authority to
levy service charges, fees, or assessments sufficient to pay for the program or level of service
mandated by this bill, as specified.

16) Makes related findings and declarations.
EXISTING LAW:

1) Defines an “architect” as a person who is licensed to practice architecture in this state.
[Business and Professions Code (BPC) § 5500]

2) Defines a “professional engineer” as a person engaged in the professional practice of
rendering service or creative work requiring education, training and experience in
engineering sciences and the application of special knowledge of the mathematical, physical
and engineering sciences in such professional or creative work as consultation, investigation,
evaluation, planning or design of public or private utilities, structures, machines, processes,
circuits, buildings, equipment or projects, and supervision of construction for the purpose of
securing compliance with specifications and design for any such work. (BPC § 6701)
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Establishes the CBSC within the Department of General Services (DGS), and requires any
building standard adopted or proposed by state agencies to be submitted to, and approved or
adopted by, the CBSC prior to codification. [Health and Safety Code (HSC) § 18930]

Establishes the Permit Streamlining Act (PSA), which, among other things, establishes time
limits within which state and local government agencies must either approve or disapprove
permits to entitle a development. [Government Code (GOV) §§ 65920 - 65964.5]

Allows the governing body of a local agency to authorize its enforcement agency to contract
with or employ a private entity or persons on a temporary basis to perform plan-checking
functions, as specified. (HSC § 19837)

Requires a local agency to contract with or employ a private entity or persons on a temporary
basis to perform plan-checking functions upon the request of an applicant for a nonresidential
permit for the remodeling or tenant improvements of a building, as specified, where there is
an “excessive delay” in checking the plans and specifications that are submitted as a part of
the application. (HSC § 19837)

Generally defines, for a nonresidential permit for a building other than a hotel or motel that is
three stories or less, “excessive delay” to mean the building department or building division
of the local agency has taken more than 50 days after submitting a complete application to
complete the structural building safety plan check of the applicant’s set of plans and
specifications that are suitable for checking. (HSC § 19837)

Requires a person proposing to build or remodel a food facility to submit complete, easily
readable plans drawn to scale, and specifications to the enforcement agency for review, and
to receive plan approval before starting any new construction or remodeling of a facility for
use as a retail food facility (HSC § 114380).

Requires the enforcement agency to approve or reject the plans to build or remodel a food
facility within 20 working days after receipt and to notify the applicant of the decision.
Unless the plans are approved or rejected within 20 working days, they shall be deemed
approved. (HSC § 114380)

10) Requires the food facility, if a determination is made by the enforcement agency that a

structural condition poses a public health hazard, to remedy the deficiency to the satisfaction
of the enforcement agency. (HSC § 114380)

11) Prohibits a food facility from opening for business without a valid permit. (HSC § 114381)

12) Requires the enforcement agency to issue a permit for a food facility when investigation has

determined that the proposed facility and its method of operation meet the specifications of
the approved plans or conforms to the requirements, as specified. (HSC § 114381)

13) Specifies that a food facility permit is nontransferable and that the permit is only valid for the

person, location, type of food sales, or distribution activity and, unless suspended or revoked
for cause, for the time period indicated. (HSC § 114381)
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14) Subjects violators who operate a food facility without the necessary permits to closure of the

food facility and a penalty not exceeding three times the cost of the permit. (HSC 8§ 114387)

FISCAL EFFECT: This bill is keyed fiscal and contains a state-mandated local program.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

3)

Author’s Statement. According to the author, “Restaurants are the backbone of California’s
local economies and communities. Often family-owned, restaurants serve as cultural anchors,
preserving and sharing diverse food traditions across generations while establishing spaces
for gatherings and celebrations. These establishments reflect California’s diversity,
agricultural abundance, and tradition of culinary innovation. The restaurant industry also
plays a critical role in providing first jobs, career advancement opportunities, and pathways
to business ownership for immigrant entrepreneurs and historically underserved
communities. And throughout our state, food tourism generates key economic activity.

“Despite restaurants’ vital role in local economies and communities, the process of opening a
restaurant in California is both time- and cost-prohibitive. As highlighted in a recent San
Francisco Chronicle article, frequent and common delays in municipal building plan review
processes often place undue costs and pressure on small-business owners. When these
owners face cumbersome, even insurmountable, hurdles to opening restaurants, their
communities are denied access to vital venues for authentic local food and connection.

“AB 671 responsibly reduces barriers to opening a new restaurant in California by
establishing a professional certification program that streamlines the municipal review
process, allowing qualified architects and engineers to certify restaurant retrofits—often
completed by small restaurants—that convert an existing facility to a new use. The
framework incorporates randomized audits to ensure compliance and does not exempt
restaurants from mandatory construction inspections, such as fire, health, and structural
checks. Thus, the legislation facilitates timely restaurant openings while maintaining vital
public safety standards. American cities including New York, Washington, D.C., and
Chicago have seen success with ‘pro cert’ programs. With AB 671, California will similarly
simplify the review process for restaurant owners, lessening the burden on many small
businesses and community hubs so they can open faster.”

Police Power. The California Constitution allows cities and counties to “make and enforce
within its limits, all local, police, sanitary and other ordinances and regulations not in conflict
with general laws.” It is from this fundamental power (commonly called the police power)
that cities and counties derive their authority to regulate behavior to preserve the health,
safety, and welfare of the public—including land use authority.

Building Codes. The California Building Standards Code (Title 24 of the California Code of
Regulations) contains building standards and regulations as adopted by the CBSC. These
standards include, among other requirements, structural standards for building safety (the
Building Code), fire safety standards (the Fire Code), energy efficiency standards (the
Energy Code), and standards for green buildings (CalGreen). The CBSC updates the
Building Standards Code on a three-year cycle—the CBSC published new standards that
went into effect on January 1, 2023. Once adopted at the state level, cities and counties in
California then enact an ordinance to adopt the codes. Improvements to existing buildings



4)

5)

6)

AB 671
Page 5

must comply with the current building codes, and may trigger additional code upgrades for
other parts of the building.

Building Permit Approvals. A builder may need a range of administrative permits from the
local agency in order to actually complete the work to construct or modify a building. These
permits can include building permits and other permits for: demolition; grading; excavation;
electrical, plumbing, or mechanical work; encroachment in the public right-of-way; roofing;
water and sewer connections or septic systems; fire sprinklers; and home occupations.

City and county building departments enforce the provisions of the State Housing Law, the
California Building Standards Code, and local zoning codes that specify the allowable forms
and uses of buildings within a city or county’s jurisdiction. Within building departments, the
positions responsible for evaluating building permits for compliance include building
officials, inspectors, plan checkers, and civil engineers. State Housing Law also allows local
agencies to hire private entities on a temporary basis to perform plan checking services.
Some agencies contract out a portion of their workload during especially busy times, or
certain portions of the building permit review process, such as reviewing compliance with
energy efficiency requirements. Other local agencies contract out nearly all plan checking
functions to a private firm.

The Permit Streamlining Act (PSA). The PSA requires public agencies to act fairly and
promptly on applications for development proposals. Under the PSA, public agencies have
30 days to determine whether applications for development projects are complete and request
additional information; failure to act results in an application being “deemed complete.” The
PSA applies to the discretionary approval phase of a development review process; this is the
phase where the agency, in its discretion, decides whether it approves of the concept outlined
in the development proposal. Because the local agency is exercising discretion, these
approval decisions are subject to CEQA. Discretionary permits often apply to new
developments, significant renovation, or changes in use that may impact the community.
Tenant improvements for a restaurant may or may not require discretionary permits.

Non-discretionary Post-entitlement Permits. A development proposal that does not require
any discretionary approvals, or has been approved and entitled by a local agency, is still
required to obtain approval for a range of non-discretionary permits, including building,
health, and safety permits. The timelines established in the PSA do not apply to these non-
discretionary permits. This stage of the review process is often ministerial, as these post-
entitlement permits are typically objective in nature.

In order to expedite this stage of the development approval process for housing
developments, AB 2234 (Robert Rivas), Chapter 651, Statutes of 2022, established
parameters for a local agency’s review of non-discretionary post-entitlement phase permits,
including requiring a local agency to determine whether an application for a post-entitlement
building permit is complete within 15 days of the agency receiving the application. Post-
entitlement building permits must be approved by local agencies within 30 days for small
housing development projects and 60 days for large housing development projects.

AB 1114 (Haney), Chapter 753, Statutes of 2023, expanded the post-entitlement permits
subject to the expedited review process and timelines established by AB 2234 to include all
building permits and other permits issued under the California Building Standards Code, or
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any applicable local building code for the construction, demolition, or alteration of buildings,
whether discretionary or nondiscretionary.

Plan Checks for Food Facilities. Existing law requires a person proposing to build or
remodel a food facility to submit complete, easily readable plans and specifications to the
enforcement agency for review, and to receive plan approval before starting any new
construction or remodeling. The enforcement agency is required to approve or reject the
plans within 20 working days after receipt and to notify the applicant of the decision. The
plans are deemed approved if a decision is not made within 20 working days.

Excessive Delays for Plan Checks. Existing law requires a local agency to contract with or
employ a private entity or persons on a temporary basis to perform plan-checking functions,
such as compliance with building, health, and safety codes, upon the request of an applicant
when there is an “excessive delay” in checking the applicant’s plans and specifications. For a
nonresidential permit for the remodeling or tenant improvements of a building, “excessive
delay” generally means the building department or building division of the local agency has
taken more than 50 days after receiving a complete application to complete the structural
building safety plan check of the applicant’s set of plans and specifications that are suitable
for checking. “Excessive delay” can also be claimed if the agency takes more than 60 days to
check the initial application and check resubmitted corrected plans and specifications after
the agency had returned the plans to the applicant for correction.

Local Fast-Tracking of Tenant Improvement Projects. Some cities, including San Diego
and Los Angeles, have developed programs to fast-track the permitting and approval process
for tenant improvement projects. However, these programs are limited to tenant
improvements for Business Group B occupancy, which refers to spaces used for office,
professional, or service-type transactions. According to the Building Owners and
Manufactures Association of Greater Los Angeles (BOMA/GLA), “During the height of the
crisis of the pandemic, Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety (LADBS) met with
the American Institute of Architects (AIALA), BOMA/GLA, and the California Construction
Authority (CCA) to identify a proactive approach to ensure that the private sector could more
effectively and more expeditiously respond to the urgent need to reconfigure, retrofit, and/or
reprogram existing workplaces, retail sites, and commercial office buildings to adapt to new
market conditions and demands for healthy, safer, and more equitable interior spaces.”

Restaurants are classified as Assembly Group A occupancy and do not qualify for the fast-
track programs. Los Angeles’ Fast-Track Office Tenant Improvement Program and San
Diego’s Office Tenant Improvement Professional Certification Permit program require plans
to be stamped and signed by a California licensed architect or engineer. The Los Angeles
Program additionally requires that the project does not involve a change of use or additional
floor area and does not require approval from other city or county departments. The San
Diego program requires, among other things, that the project is not a first-generation tenant
improvement, does not alter, remove, or add plumbing fixtures, does not make changes to the
exterior of the building, does not alter or change stairways or stair vestibules, does not
include new floor openings, does not reduce accessibility, and does not require special
inspections. The Los Angeles program has a goal of completing plan review within two
business days of plan-check fees payment, while San Diego’s program offers issuance of a
permit within the same day that a virtual appointment is completed.



AB 671
Page 7

10) Local Definitions of “Tenant Improvement.” The term “tenant improvement” is not
defined in state law, but several local agencies define this term on their websites. For
example:

a) City of Azusa, Economic and Community Development Department: “Tenant
improvements are commercial additions, or alterations to the interior of an existing
building and/or structure, including but not limited to offices, restaurants, storage rooms,
demising walls and conveying equipment systems.”

b) City of Daly City, Economic Development Department: “A commercial tenant
improvement project involves the interior remodeling of an existing office or retail space
to upgrade for the present tenant or change to accommodate a new tenant.”

c) City of Simi Valley, Environmental Services Department: “A tenant improvement
involves an alteration to an existing building, either interior or exterior, or both, in which
case you will need to meet City requirements regarding architectural design, building
occupancy, construction, parking, business signage, landscaping, and possible public
right-of-way and sewer improvements.”

11) Bill Summary. This bill requires a local building department or permitting department to
allow a qualified professional certifier, defined as a professional architect or engineer who
meets certain requirements, to certify compliance with applicable building, health, and safety
codes for a tenant improvement relating to a restaurant. The tenant improvement is required
to comply with building standards approved by the CBSC and local building standards in
effect at the time the application for a permit is submitted.

The bill would require the qualified professional certifier to submit a statement attesting that
the tenant improvement plans and specifications comply with all applicable laws and
regulations. The bill would require that a certified plan be deemed approved for permitting
purposes upon submission of the certification, provided that all fees and required documents
have been submitted.

This bill requires a local building or permitting department to annually conduct a random
audit of 10-20% of all tenant improvements for restaurants submitted by a qualified
professional certifier, within five days of permit issuance. If non-compliance is found, the
local building department or permitting department must provide a correction notice within
10 days of the audit’s initiation.

This bill provides that certification for a restaurant tenant improvement via a qualified
professional certifier does not exempt a tenant improvement from other mandatory
construction inspections and does not limit the authority of the local health department to
conduct food facility inspections.

The bill would also make qualified professional certifiers subject to certain penalties for false
statements or willful noncompliance with these provisions, and would make qualified
professional certifiers liable for any damages arising from negligent plan review. By
requiring local entities to administer a new program and to take certain actions, this bill
would impose a state-mandated program.

This bill is author-sponsored.
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12) Policy Considerations. The Committee may wish to consider the following:

a)

b)

c)

d)

9)

h)

Whether there is sufficient evidence of a state-wide problem and whether existing law is
deficient.

Defining “tenant improvement” and “restaurant” to increase clarity and specificity of the
bill.

Specifying that the qualified professional certifier cannot have a financial interest in the
permit or preparing the plans and specifications.

Specifying that the applicant must request that the qualified professional certifier certify
the plans.

Specifying that a compliance certification under this bill is at the applicant’s own
expense.

Specifying that a qualified professional certifier shall prepare an affidavit, under penalty
of perjury, rather than submitting a statement attesting that the plans and specifications
comply with all applicable laws and regulations.

Providing the local building or permitting department 20 business days to approve or
deny the application before a certified plan is deemed approved for permitting purposes.

Increasing the minimum from 10% to 20% and removing the 20% cap and on the
percentage of audits a local department is authorized to conduct for projects certified
under this bill, in order to ensure a local agency is able to perform plan checks at its
discretion.

13) Committee Amendments. In order to address some of the policy considerations raised
above, the Committee may wish to consider the following amendments:

a)

b)

66345.1. For purposes of this chapter, the following definitions apply:

(a) “Tenant improvement” means changes to the interior of an existing building.

(b) “Restaurant” means a retail food establishment that prepares, serves, and vends
food directly to the consumer.

66345.2. (a) (1) A local building department or local permitting department shall allow,
upon request from an applicant for a permit for a tenant improvement relating to a
restaurant, a qualified professional certifier to certify, at the applicant’s own expense,
compliance with applicable building, health, and safety codes for a the tenant

improvement relating-to-arestatrant.

66345.2. (b) (1) A qualified professional certifier shall submita-statement prepare an
affidavit, under penalty of perjury, attesting that the tenant improvement plans and
specifications comply with all applicable laws and regulations.
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d) 66345.2. (b) (2) If_within 20 business days of receiving a completed application,
including the affidavit specified in paragraph (1), the local building department or
local permitting department does not approve or deny the application, a certified A

certified plan shall be deemed approved for permitting purposes upen-submission-of-the
certification, provided that all fees and required documents have been submitted.

e) 66345.2. (b) (3) If a complete application is denied within the 20 business day period
described in paragraph (2), the applicant may resubmit corrected plans addressing
the deficiencies identified in the denial. The local building department or local
permitting department shall approve or deny each subsequent resubmission within
10 business days of receipt.

f) 66345.2. (c) (1) Each local building department or local permitting department shall
anndally conduct a random audit of no less than 10-pereent-and-ne-mere-than 20
percent of all tenant improvements submitted per week for certification under this
chapter.

g) 66345.2. (c) (3) If an audit reveals material noncompliance, the local building department
or local permitting department shall provide a plan check correction notice within 10
business days of the audit’s initiation.

h) 66345.4. (b)Fhis-chapterdoeshotreduceorlimitthe-authority-or Hability of alocat

14) Related Legislation. AB 253 (Ward) allows an applicant for specified residential building
permits to employ a private professional provider to check plans and specifications in the
event that a building department is unable to complete or estimates being unable to complete
the check in 30 days. This bill is pending referral in the Senate.

AB 660 (Wilson) makes a number of changes to law governing the approval and issuance of
post-entitlement phase permits and the provision of services for housing development
projects by counties, cities and special districts. This bill is pending in this Committee.

15) Previous Legislation. AB 2433 (Quirk-Silva) of 2024 would have required a local agency to
complete plan check services for a building permit within 30 business days of a request from
an applicant or employ a private professional to perform plan checking services. AB 2433
was held in the Senate Local Government Committee.

16) Arguments in Support. The California Restaurant Association states, “Restaurant owners
currently face months-long delays in the building plan review process, creating significant
financial and operational hardships. These prolonged wait times cause employment
opportunities to evaporate, disrupt restaurant openings, delay service, and burden small
business owners who depend on timely improvements to remain competitive.

“Recognizing this challenge, major cities including New York City, Chicago, and
Washington, D.C. have successfully implemented self-certification programs that allow
licensed professionals to verify code compliance. The self-certification of plans has
successfully reduced wait times while also ensuring compliance with building and safety
standards.
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“AB 671 expedites the building plan review process for restaurant build-outs without
compromising safety. The bill specifically clarifies that self-certification does not exempt
projects from required inspections, including fire, health, and structural evaluations. It also
mandates that local building departments conduct random audits of self-certified projects to
ensure compliance.

“AB 671 simplifies the tenant improvement plan review process for restaurant owners while
maintaining safety standards. This will enable restaurants to open more quickly and to
employ more people sooner, which will help support economic growth in their
communities...”

17) Arguments in Opposition. None on file.

18) Double-Referral. This bill is double-referred to the Assembly Business and Professions
Committee.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

California Restaurant Association
California Travel Association

Cal Asian Chamber of Commerce
Uovo

Sushi Nozawa

Matu

Jon & Vinny’s

Hiho

Opposition
None on file

Analysis Prepared by: Julia Mouat / L. GOV. / (916) 319-3958



